Topic outline

  • Cyber Essentials

    Level: Difficult

    20 mins

    This is an introduction to the Cyber Essentials scheme published by UK's National Cyber Security Centre.

    What is Cyber Essentials?

    Officially, Cyber Essentials is an industry-supported scheme to help organisations protect themselves against common online threats. It focuses on 5 technical security controls:

    1. Gateways and firewalls
    2. Secure configuration
    3. Anti-malware
    4. Patch Management
    5. Access Control

    The following video introduces these controls:


    Did you know that you can get a professional certification on Cyber Essentials?
    • A professional certification is a is a process by which a person develops the knowledge, experience, and skills to perform a specific job.
    • A Cyber Essentials certification provides some assurance that the person obtaining it is capable to perform on a baseline in order to secure an organisation
    • If you are reading this, it is very likely that you are interested in developing your IT skills. You should therefore consider to improve your cyber security skills
    • More information can be found on the CE site,

    A deeper look into the five controls: